# Past Awards Recipients - 2017 - 2009 2017

### NSEE Experiential Education Rising Leader Urszula Zalewski Stony Brook University

NSEE Outstanding Experiential Education Research/Dissertation of the Year Award Marianna Savoca Stony Brook University

NSEE Outstanding Leader in Experiential Education: Higher Education Award Ann Green Saint Joseph's University

#### **NSEE Outstanding Experiential Education Program** Texas Woman's University, Denton, TX (TWU's five-year quality enhancement plan, Pioneering Pathways: Learn by Doing)

William M. Burke Presidential Award for Excellence in Experiential Education Dr. Ronald L. Vaughn, President University of Tampa

**John S. Duley Lifetime Achievement Award** Robert D. Shumer Metropolitan State University

## **Michael Steuerman Distinguished Service Award** Ron Kovach Virginia International University

# 2016

NSEE Outstanding Leader in Experiential Education in Higher Education Award Jeffrey Coker Elon University

NSEE Outstanding Leader in Experiential Education Award: K-12 Award Pam Stroklund Minot Public Schools

## **NSEE Experiential Education: Rising Leader Award** Kimberly Pause Tucker Stevenson University

John S. Duley Lifetime Achievement Award Lynne Montrose *awarded posthumously* 

William M. Burke Presidential Award for Excellence in Experiential Education Dr. Daan Braveman Nazareth College

# 2015

**NSEE Outstanding Leader in Experiential Education in Higher Education Award** John Ramsay, PhD., Associate Dean of Experiential Learning/Professor of Mathematics The College of Wooster

**NSEE Outstanding Experiential Education Program Award** Southern Utah University

## **NSEE Experiential Education Rising Leader Award**

Joshua Netzer, Portland Senior Experience Internship Program Director University of Oregon

### John S. Duley Lifetime Achievement Award Pamela Brumbaugh, Director of Experiential Education Elon University

**William M. Burke Presidential Award for Excellence in Experiential Education** Dr. Sidney A. McPhee, President, Middle Tennessee State University

# 2014

### **Outstanding Experiential Education Research/Dissertation Award**

Aaron D. Clevenger, PhD, Executive Director, Experiential Learning, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

**Outstanding Experiential Education Community Based Organization Award** Maryland-DC Campus Compact

NSEE John S. Duley Lifetime Achievement Award (Replaces Pioneer Award) Garry Hesser, Sabo Professor of Citizenship & Learning Emeritus, Augsburg

**William M. Burke Presidential Award for Excellence in Experiential Education** John Bowen, Chancellor, Johnson & Wales University

# 2013

### **Outstanding Experiential Education Program Award** CEA Global Education - Academic-Integrated Cultural Activities Program (AICAP)

## **Outstanding Experiential Education Research/Dissertation Award**

Shara Lee, Ed.D. Valencia College

## **Experiential Education Rising Leader Award**

Alan Grose, Ph.D. The Washington Center for Internships and Academic Seminars

# 2012

## In 2012, NSEE created the John S. Duley Lifetime Achievement Award

Inaugural winner: John S. Duley, Associate Professor Emeritus, Michigan State University "John is known affectionately by colleagues across the U.S. as the "Grandfather of Service-Learning". For us in NSEE, he is not only known as one of our founders, but a valued mentor and friend, who continues to make new paths by walking them." – Dwight E. Giles

## **Outstanding Experiential Education Program Award**

Marquette University's Service-Learning Program Milwaukee, WI

## **Outstanding Experiential Education Research/Dissertation Award**

Suzanne M. Buglione CommunityBuild

# 2011

## **Experiential Education Pioneer Award**

Art Chickering, Goddard College Jane Eyler, Vanderbilt University Gail Forman, Montgomery College Dwight Giles, University of Massachusetts Robert Hackett, Corella & Bertram F. Bonner Foundation David Moore, New York University Sharon Rubin, Rampo College Rob Shumer, University of Minnesota Tim Stanton, Bing Overseas Studies Program, Stanford University

#### **Outstanding Leader in Experiential Education: Corporate/Foundation Award** James S. Kemper Foundation - Chicago, IL

Experiential Education Rising Leader Award

Rhonda Cross Beemer, Director of Health Sciences Experiential Education Drake University, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences Des Moines, IA

## Outstanding Experiential Education Research/Dissertation Award Paul DiFrancesco, Assistant Dean of Pharmacy Experiential Education Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Boston, MA

Outstanding Leader in Experiential Education: Higher Education Award Rekha Datta, Associate Professor, Political Science & Director of the Institute of Global Understanding Monmouth University West Long Branch, NJ

**Michael Steuerman Distinguished Service Award** Mary King Fitchburg State University

# 2010

## **Experiential Education Pioneer Award**

Bob Sigmon, retired Jane Kendall, President North Carolina Center for Non-Profits

## **Outstanding Experiential Education Program Award**

Lander University - Greewood, SC

(Lander University Experience Your Education (EYE) Program)

**Outstanding Leader in Experiential Education: Higher Education Leader** Sheri Dressler, Director of Experiential Learning University of Central Florida

# 2009

### **Experiential Education Pioneer Award**

John S. Duley, Associate Professor Emeritus Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI

**Outstanding Experiential Education Research/Dissertation Award** Joanne Dreher, Director, Center for Undergraduate Academic Advising Lesley University, Cambridge, MA

**Experiential Education Rising Leader Award** Lissa Gallagher, Director, Experiential Learning Center University of Colorado - Denver, Denver, CO

**Outstanding Leader in Experiential Education: Higher Education Award** Joan Milnes, Director, Office of Internships & Career Service Montserrat College of Art, Beverly, MA

Rexford Waters, Associate Dean of Students Elon University, Elon, NC

#### **Outstanding Experiential Education Program Award**

Craig School of Business Internship Program California State University - Fresno, Fresno, CA Previous winners from 2008 - 1999